Skip Main Navigation
Official Nebraska Government Website
NITC Logo
Skip Side Navigation
Education Council Icon

Members

The Education Council membership includes representatives from the following groups: K-12, Postsecondary, and Non-voting liaisons. The Commission may solicit nominations for new or replacement members from the respective subsector groups.

Membership Details


Post Secondary

Member Representing Alternates
Mr. Mark Askren
Chief Information Officer
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
ADMS 203, Lincoln, NE 68588-0496
p: 402.472.4242 f: 402.472.XXXX
maskren2@unl.edu
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Public Universities
(as recommended by the President of the University of Nebraska)
Mr. Bret Blackman
Chief Information Officer
University of Nebraska-Omaha
6001 Dodge St., EAB 112; Omaha, NE 68132
p: 402.554.2227 f: 402.554.XXXX
bblackman@unomaha.edu
Mr. Derek Bierman
Vice President for Technology
Northeast Community College
801 East Benjamin, Norfolk, NE 68702-0469
p: 402.844.7060 f: 402.844.XXXX
derek@northeast.edu
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Community Colleges
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Community College System)
Ms. Carla Streff
Director of Client Services
Northeast Community College
801 East Benjamin, Norfolk, NE 68702-0469
p: 402.844.7135 f: 402.844.XXXX
carla@northeast.edu
Mr. Mike Carpenter
Vice-President and Chief Technology Officer
Doane University
1014 Boswell Avenue, Crete, NE 68333
p: 402.826.6781 f: 402.826.8600
mike.carpenter@doane.edu
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Independent Universities
As recommended by the Executive Director of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universitities of Nebraska
Mr. Chuck Lenosky
Director of Media Services
Creighton University
2500 California Plaza, Omaha, NE 68178
p: 402.280.25400 f: 402.280.5068
clenosky@creighton.edu
Mr. John Dunning
Chief Information Officer
Wayne State College
1111 Main, Wayne, NE 68787
p: 402.375.7447 f: 402.375.7411
jodunni1@wsc.edu
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
State Colleges
(as recommended by the Chancellor of the Nebraska State College System)
Ms. Ann Burk
Chief Information Officer
Chadron State College
1000 Main Street, Chadron, NE 69337
p:308.432.6311 x101 f: 308.432.6471
aburk@csc.edu
Mr. Steve Hotovy
Vice Chancellor for Facilities, Planning and Information Technology
Nebraska State College System
1327 H Street, Suite 200, P.O. Box 94605, Lincoln, NE 68509-4605
p: 402.471.2505 f: 402.471.2669
shotovy@nscs.edu
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
State Colleges
(as recommended by the Chancellor of the Nebraska State College System)
Mr. Stan Carpenter
Chancellor
Nebraska State College System
1115 K Street, Suite 102, P.O. Box 94605, Lincoln, NE 68509-4605
p: 402.471.2505 f: 402.471.2669
scarpenter@nscs.edu
Mr. Greg Maschman
Asst Vice-President and Controller
Nebraska Wesleyan University
5000 Saint Paul Avenue, Lincoln, NE 68504-2796
p: 402.465.2116 f: 402.465.2565
gdm@nebrwesleyan.edu
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
Independent Universities
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Association of Independent Colleges and Universitities of Nebraska)
To be announced
Ms. Mary Niemiec
Assoc. Vice-President for Distance Education
University of Nebraska
Varner 234, 3835 Holdrege, Lincoln, NE 68583-0743
p: 402.472.7979
mniemiec@nebraska.edu
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
[Co-Chair, Higher Education]
Public Universities
(as recommended by the President of the University of Nebraska)
To be announced
Mr. Tom Peters
I.T. Service Manager
Central Community College
3134 W. Hwy 34; Grand Island, NE 68802
p: 308.398.7365
tpeters@cccneb.edu
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
Community Colleges
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Community College System)
To be announced

K-12

Member Representing Alternates
Mr. Burke Brown
Teacher
District OR-1 Palmyra/Bennet Public Schools
425 F St., Palmyra, NE 68418-0130
p: 402.780.5327 f: 402.780.5238
brown.bur@districtor1.net
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
Teachers
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska State Education Association)
Ms. Cassandra Joseph
Teacher
South Sioux City Community Schools
3625 G St., South Sioux City, NE 68776-3466
p: 402.494.3061 f: 402.494.8427
cassandra.joseph@ssccardinals.org
Mr. Matt Chrisman
Teacher-Technology Coordinator
Mitchell Secondary School
1819 19th Ave., Mitchell, NE 69357
p: 308.623.1707 f: 308.623.1330
mchrisma@mpstigers.com
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Teachers
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska State Education Association)
Ms. Emily Tobias
Teacher-Technology Coordinator
Sargent Public Schools
400 N. 5th St., P.O. Box 366
Sargent, NE 68874
p: 308.527.4119 f: 308.527.3332
emily.tobias@sargentpublicschools.org
Dr. Ted DeTurk
Administrator
ESU 2
2320 N. Colorado St, Fremont, NE 68026-0649
p: 402.721.7710 f: 402.287.2065
tdeturk@esu2.org
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Educational Service Units
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the ESU Coordinating Council)
Dr. Wayne Bell
Administrator
ESU 10
76 Plaza Blvd., P.O. Box 850
Kearney, NE 68848-0850
p:308.237.5927 f: 308.237.5920
wbell@esu10.org
Mr. Stephen Hamersky
Technology Coordinator
Daniel J. Gross Catholic High School
7300 S. 43rd Street, Bellevue, NE 68147-1706
p: 402.734.2000 x152 f: 402.734.4270
Hamersky@grosscatholic.org
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Private-Parochial Education
(as recommended by the Executive Officer of the Nebraska affiliate of the Council for American Private Education)
Mr. Steven Stortz
Technology Coordinator
Christ Lutheran School
511 S. 5th, Norfolk, NE 68701-5278
p: 402.371.5536 x424 f: 402.371.1288
sstortz@clnorfolk.org
Dr. Dan Hoesing
Superintendent
Schuyler Community Schools
401 Adam St., Schuyler, NE 68661-2400
p: 402.352.3527 f: 402.352.5552
dhoesing@esu7.org
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
Administrators
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Council of School Administrators)
To be announced
Dr. Mike Lucas
Superintendent
York Public Schools
2918 N. Delaware Avenue, York, NE 68467-9502
p: 402.362.6655 f: 402.362.6943
mjlucas@yorkpublic.org
Term 7.1.2015-6.30.2017
Administrators
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Council of School Administrators)
Ms. Elizabeth Ericson
District Administrator
York Public Schools
2918 N. Delaware Avenue, York, NE 68467-9502
p: 402.362.6655 f: 402.362.6943
beth.ericson@yorkdukes.org
Mr. Alan Moore
Board Member
Educational Service Unit 3
6949 S. 110th St., LaVista, NE 68128
p: 402.597.4800 f: 402.597.4808
Alan.moore@stratcom.net
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
Boards of Education
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the Nebraska Association of School Boards)
Ms. Tracy Popp
Board Member
Broken Bow Public Schools
323 N. 7th Ave, Broken Bow, NE 68822
p: 308.872.6821 f: 308.872.2751
popptracy@yahoo.com
Mr. Gary Needham
Director of Technology
ESU 9
1117 East South Street, Hastings, NE 68901
p: 402.463.5611 f: 402.463.9555
gneedham@esu9.org
Term 7.1.2016-6.30.2018
[Co-Chair, K-12 Education]
Educational Service Units
(as recommended by the Executive Director of the ESU Coordinating Council)
Mr. Scott Jones
Distance Learning Director
Southwest Nebraska Distance Education Network
1221 W. 17th St.
North Platte, NE 69101
p: 308.534.2427 f: 308.534.5870
scott.jones@esusixteen.org

Non-Voting Liaisons

Liaisons Representing Alternates
Dr. Mike Baumgartner
Executive Director
CCPE
140 N. 8th St., Suite 300, P.O. Box 95005, Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
p: 402.471.0029 f: 402.471.2886
mike.baumgartner@nebraska.gov
Coordinating Commission for Postsecondary Education Dr. Kathleen Fimple
Academic Programs Officer
CCPE
140 N. 8th St., Suite 300, P.O. Box 95005, Lincoln, NE 68509-5005
p: 402.471.0030 f: 402.471.2886
kathleen.fimple@nebraska.gov
Mr. Brent Gaswick
Technology Integration Specialist
NDE Technology Center
301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94987, Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
p: 402.471.3503 f: 402.471.0117
brent.gaswick@nebraska.gov
Department of Education Ms. SuAnn Witt
State E-rate and Infrastructure Specialist
NDE Technology Center
301 Centennial Mall South, P.O. Box 94987, Lincoln, NE 68509-4987
p: 402.471.2085 f: 402.471.0117
suann.witt@nebraska.gov
Mr. Ed Toner
Chief Information Officer
State Office of the CIO
501 S. 14th, 4th Floor, Lincoln, NE 68509-5045
p: 402.471.3717 f: 402.471.4864
ed.toner@nebraska.gov
Department of Administrative Services To Be Named
Budget Analyst
DAS Budget Division
Capitol 1320, P.O. Box 94664, Lincoln, NE 68509-4664
p: 402.471.6500 f: 402.471.8074
Mr. Gary Targoff
Assistant General Manager for Education
NET
1800 N. 33rd, P.O. Box 83111, Lincoln, NE 68501-3111
p: 402.472.9333 x268 f: 402.472.6146
gtargoff2@unl.edu
Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission Mr. Michael Winkle
Assistant General Manager for Marketing
NET
1800 N. 33rd, P.O. Box 83111, Lincoln, NE 68501-3111
p: 402.472.9333 x321 f: 402.472.6146
mwinkle1@unl.edu